Filling block under furnace (Radon)

Ask your questions pertaining to the interior that don't fit in the above categories
Post Reply
tpirovol
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 9:14 am

Filling block under furnace (Radon)

Post by tpirovol » Fri Sep 14, 2018 4:26 pm

Hey Everyone,

I bought my home under foreclosure about 9 years ago and it has been one thing after another. I have been testing the radon as I want to fix the basement and I am getting close to the EU 100bq but well under Canada's standard of 200bq. In the end my logic is any number is to much so I am getting the basement mitigated.

I was reading a report about how a person in BC had high radon from the gap under their furnace because the builder hung it before the cement was poured. It got me thinking that the guys at my house did the same thing.

After further review I noticed instead of putting the blocking vertical they put it horizontal so the webs are under the furnace and direct to soil. I plan on fixing it this weekend and hoping for recommendations.

I was originally just going to drill a hole and spray foam it but figured that might not be the best. I then read that non-shrinking grout can be set to the consistency of syrup. So I am thinking of drilling a 1" hole and using a funnel to pour it into the webs. Just wondering what your thoughts are and if there is a better way. The block on the left is easy I will remove the filter and fill the webs. The one on the right I will drill on an angle.

As you can see the pad they put the furnace on is over 1' of cement.
28A85928-1906-4E42-A856-ACAD6E78240E.jpeg
28A85928-1906-4E42-A856-ACAD6E78240E.jpeg (83.7 KiB) Viewed 262 times
0A4A1506-EA5E-46FA-8812-A65BDB01CA28.jpeg
0A4A1506-EA5E-46FA-8812-A65BDB01CA28.jpeg (88.55 KiB) Viewed 262 times

Thoughts?
Thanks T

User avatar
Shannon
Posts: 13839
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 11:58 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Filling block under furnace (Radon)

Post by Shannon » Sat Sep 15, 2018 8:42 am

I think closed cell spray foam would work and grout will for sure. Be sure you get all the webs filled. There will be two per block.
If you've found our videos or website information helpful, please considering making a donation using PayPal or pledging us on Patreon

tpirovol
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 9:14 am

Re: Filling block under furnace (Radon)

Post by tpirovol » Sat Sep 15, 2018 8:32 pm

Thanks Shannon,

In the end I am going to go a bit more extreme. Since I don't know if their are other blocks or voids I am going to remove the blower motor and cut out a part of the furnace floor. I will then fill in all the voids and put the cover back on and seal it all back up.

Last question if their are any voids, holes or gaps should I use the grout or something else?

User avatar
Shannon
Posts: 13839
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 11:58 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Filling block under furnace (Radon)

Post by Shannon » Sat Sep 15, 2018 11:18 pm

Concrete mix would be cheaper and just as effective if the access is large enough for the gravel in the mix to flow through.
If you've found our videos or website information helpful, please considering making a donation using PayPal or pledging us on Patreon

tpirovol
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 9:14 am

Re: Filling block under furnace (Radon)

Post by tpirovol » Sun Sep 16, 2018 7:01 pm

Thanks for all your help Shannon,

In the end took off the filter and was hollow under. We then used an angle grinder to remove the floor of the furnace. As you can see it was a giant void, forgot to take a before of the furnace area but their was 3 blocks not 2.

Used the concrete mix as you suggested. Letting it dry overnight then going to put everything back togeather.

It was hard and a lot of work but it hopefully is fixed now.
7840C510-9F0B-49C1-A427-1A3A45184A14.jpeg
7840C510-9F0B-49C1-A427-1A3A45184A14.jpeg (178.2 KiB) Viewed 226 times
Thanks again
T

User avatar
Shannon
Posts: 13839
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 11:58 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Filling block under furnace (Radon)

Post by Shannon » Sun Sep 16, 2018 8:54 pm

Hope that fixed your radon problem
If you've found our videos or website information helpful, please considering making a donation using PayPal or pledging us on Patreon

hcpatel78
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 2:43 pm

Re: Filling block under furnace (Radon)

Post by hcpatel78 » Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:36 am

It looks like you have air intake is from your house. So would recommend extending that air intake from outside. Fresh air has more oxygen and that will give your high-efficiency furnace an efficiency boost. you have a high-efficiency furnace. What is happening now, when your furnace turns on in winter it sucks all the warm air which yo heated and throughout in exhaust. So your house air is dumping outside and your house will replace that air from cold outside. eventually, your furnace will run longer ...not efficient at all... you always feel drafty home.

User avatar
Shannon
Posts: 13839
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 11:58 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Filling block under furnace (Radon)

Post by Shannon » Wed Sep 19, 2018 3:23 pm

The cold air return duct here is proper and I'm sure you do have a fresh air inlet providing combustion air to the furnace and appliances in the home. If you do not then that will be an issue.
If you've found our videos or website information helpful, please considering making a donation using PayPal or pledging us on Patreon

Post Reply