Anything I should know before taking this on?

Ask your questions pertaining to the interior that don't fit in the above categories
wavewrangler

Anything I should know before taking this on?

Post by wavewrangler » Tue Aug 27, 2019 3:10 pm

Hi. I was hoping I could get some input before I start remodeling my home office. This room was in this shape when I moved in and I just can't stand looking at it any longer. I work in this room for 10 hours a day so I want it to be nice. I want to put laminate floors down, 3-foot wanescotting, new drywall and paint, new trim and moulding, and maybe a new window. I'm also going to be building a new work desk with cable management out of a butcher block countertop to match the new flooring and paint but that is getting into decorating territory.

I've never done any of this before, haha. I figure I will just jump in, after watching countless videos on the internet. I'm kind of apprehensive about it all so I'm just looking for a trained eye to take a look and let me know if there's anything I should keep in mind before I go to ripping the carpeting out. I don't have any other way of learning other than doing it myself but I want to minimize beginner mistakes as much as I can.

One of my main concerns is the dry wall. Finishing looks like a complete pita. But the seam trim just looks awful and it's gotta go! Especially around the closet area. I want to get rid of all that nasty wood-colored trim that's up around the door and the ceiling. Is that something I can do successfully without having a lot of experience? Another concern is the phone jack on the floor and the coax cable coming up through the floor. Moving forward, I would like to condense those in to an outlet in the wall. I feel that would be much neater. Tips on that would be appreciated.

Anything else you guys want to suggest or point out to me, I would be very appreciative of that! Thanks!