Ceiling fix

Ask your questions pertaining to the interior that don't fit in the above categories
gto49

Ceiling fix

Post by gto49 » Wed Nov 20, 2019 8:39 pm

Hi Shannon,

We are almost done our renos, and after getting the mudding and painting done (hired a good local guy to do it last summer), I noticed the ceiling in the dining room redeveloped a crack that he "fixed." It runs where an old wall was removed that separated the dining room and living room some time ago, to open up the space. He suggested using DryDex, but I've never used it before and not sure if that will fix the issue of the crack reappearing. There are actually two cracks, running parallel to each other, about 4" apart.
On a vacation trip this summer, we stayed in a place that had ceiling beams, and that gave me the idea to put in a faux beam as a solution. So yesterday I checked the joist locations with a stud finder, and found that the crack runs pretty much between, and parallel to, the ceiling joists, from the outer wall to an inside wall.
Now I have no idea how the old wall was attached to the ceiling joists -- if they were attached at all. Nor can I figure out how the previous owner patched the ceiling where the wall used to be. We also upgraded our insulation in the attic so I'm reluctant to go up there wading through it to check it out.
My idea was to attach a 2x4 to the ceiling to cover the cracks and to hang the fake beam off of, a simple three-sided box using 1x6s and a 1x4, with the fourth side being the 2x4. Since there seems to be nothing to attach the 2x4 to but gyproc, I'm stymied.
So, I'm wondering if you have any ideas or suggestions to get rid of, or hide, that annoying crack.
Ron

A. Spruce

Re: Ceiling fix

Post by A. Spruce » Wed Nov 20, 2019 8:58 pm