Junction box or pigtail in main panel

Ask your electrical related questions here
Post Reply
phantomvs
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 6:27 am

Junction box or pigtail in main panel

Post by phantomvs » Mon Jul 03, 2017 7:09 pm

I have red 12/2 wire that comes from a new heater install that I would like to double tap on the square d 20 amp breaker from another existing heater in the main panel. I am within watt specs of the breaker and wire so that aspect is ok.

My problem is the new wire is not long enough to reach the breaker so I need to extend the wire.

Can I use breaker panel as a junction panel and pigtail inside panel ?
Or junction box outside main electrical panel ?

If I put a junction box outside panel what the of box should I use just a regular octangular box with blank cover ?

Thanks !

User avatar
Aaron
Posts: 3222
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:03 pm
Location: St. Paul, MN

Re: Junction box or pigtail in main panel

Post by Aaron » Tue Jul 04, 2017 11:34 am

If you could move the breaker to a new slot where the conductors could reach, that is really the best idea.

Otherwise yeah, you can pigtail in the panel box.

phantomvs
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 6:27 am

Re: Junction box or pigtail in main panel

Post by phantomvs » Tue Jul 04, 2017 4:06 pm

Yeah i thought of that but even if I move the breaker it wont reach.
So it's OK to use wire nuts to extend hot wires to breaker ?
I was thinking of using wire nuts in main panel but heard it might be against code ?

User avatar
Aaron
Posts: 3222
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:03 pm
Location: St. Paul, MN

Re: Junction box or pigtail in main panel

Post by Aaron » Tue Jul 04, 2017 8:28 pm

Technically it should be fine to do a pigtail, but on second thought since you are double-tapping a double-pole breaker, I am now thinking it would be better if you did indeed run cable to a junction box from the panel and breaker, and then have both your heater circuits splice in that junction box instead. This keeps your panel neater, and it also makes your circuit easier to understand at a glance by, potentially, an inspector or other electrician.

Use a 4" inch square box. It could be either 1 1/4" or 2 1/8" deep.

User avatar
emtnut
Posts: 1801
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 7:21 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Junction box or pigtail in main panel

Post by emtnut » Wed Jul 05, 2017 5:38 am

phantomvs wrote:Yeah i thought of that but even if I move the breaker it wont reach.
So it's OK to use wire nuts to extend hot wires to breaker ?
I was thinking of using wire nuts in main panel but heard it might be against code ?
Inspectors in Canada will only allow pigtails in panels under certain conditions. ie, on a panel change/upgrade, or modifying an exsisting circuit. For new circuits, they will (can) fail you if you use a wirenut.
I'd go with Aarons suggestion of a 4x4 box as well
~~ Ford Ford Ford Ford Ford Ford :mrgreen: ~~

User avatar
Aaron
Posts: 3222
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:03 pm
Location: St. Paul, MN

Re: Junction box or pigtail in main panel

Post by Aaron » Wed Jul 05, 2017 9:52 am

emtnut wrote:Inspectors in Canada will only allow pigtails in panels under certain conditions. ie, on a panel change/upgrade, or modifying an exsisting circuit. For new circuits, they will (can) fail you if you use a wirenut.
They really are taboo. If it can be avoided it ought to be.

phantomvs
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 6:27 am

Re: Junction box or pigtail in main panel

Post by phantomvs » Wed Jul 05, 2017 11:04 am

Ok guys so a 4x4 box not an octogonal box ? 4x4 box like pic i added.

By the way, it brings me to my next question.
I know octognal boxes are often used for ceiling to mount light fixtures.
Can octognal boxes be used for junction boxes with a blank cover on them ?
Whats the differnece between them and 4x4 boxes, wire capacity ??
Attachments
0320018_L.jpg
0320018_L.jpg (254.51 KiB) Viewed 764 times

User avatar
emtnut
Posts: 1801
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 7:21 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Junction box or pigtail in main panel

Post by emtnut » Wed Jul 05, 2017 11:46 am

phantomvs wrote:Ok guys so a 4x4 box not an octogonal box ? 4x4 box like pic i added.

By the way, it brings me to my next question.
I know octognal boxes are often used for ceiling to mount light fixtures.
Can octognal boxes be used for junction boxes with a blank cover on them ?
Whats the differnece between them and 4x4 boxes, wire capacity ??
4x4 is what most use for junctions, but nothing stopping you from using and octoganal box or even a receptacle box, as long as it has a blanking plate on it.
Wire capacity in the box is the only restriction.
~~ Ford Ford Ford Ford Ford Ford :mrgreen: ~~

User avatar
Aaron
Posts: 3222
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:03 pm
Location: St. Paul, MN

Re: Junction box or pigtail in main panel

Post by Aaron » Wed Jul 05, 2017 12:00 pm

Yep, exactly... use whatever box and its corresponding cover plate you already have on hand. You definitely want to use an octagon or square box for your proposed splice, though.

phantomvs
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 6:27 am

Re: Junction box or pigtail in main panel

Post by phantomvs » Wed Jul 05, 2017 4:10 pm

I Love this forum ☺

I learn something new every day !

Thanks guys !!!!!!!!!

User avatar
Aaron
Posts: 3222
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:03 pm
Location: St. Paul, MN

Re: Junction box or pigtail in main panel

Post by Aaron » Wed Jul 05, 2017 10:15 pm

phantomvs wrote:I Love this forum ☺

I learn something new every day !

Thanks guys !!!!!!!!!
You're quite welcome, it's a lot of fun to share knowledge and help others!

User avatar
emtnut
Posts: 1801
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 7:21 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Junction box or pigtail in main panel

Post by emtnut » Thu Jul 06, 2017 5:19 pm

phantomvs wrote:I Love this forum ☺

I learn something new every day !

Thanks guys !!!!!!!!!
Forum is not to shabby :mrgreen:

Thanks phantom !
~~ Ford Ford Ford Ford Ford Ford :mrgreen: ~~

etp
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2019 12:20 am

Re: Junction box or pigtail in main panel

Post by etp » Sat Jun 08, 2019 12:29 am

Very nice thread BTW. My wires are too short to install a transfer box for a generator and by reading the info above I assume I need to pull my individual circuit wires out of the main panel and pigtail where needed in a separate box and then to the generator switch box and then back to the main panel.. ARGH!

BTW my wire stretcher is broke. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Maybe install a block out at the bottom as my panel is installed upside down,

Or do what I have done for years. Turn off all the 220CB and the main switch and then hit the one breaker to the Gen on.

User avatar
Aaron
Posts: 3222
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:03 pm
Location: St. Paul, MN

Re: Junction box or pigtail in main panel

Post by Aaron » Sat Jun 08, 2019 10:28 am

Transfer switches for generators are mounted next to breaker panels, and these transfer switch panels actually come with a wire assembly, a big bunch of pigtails that go into the breaker panel to route circuits through the transfer switch panel.

In this case, the splicing indeed happens in the main breaker panel as it's a very practical exception.

Post Reply