GFCI /AFCI outlet

Ask your electrical related questions here
Post Reply
MarkM
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 1:32 am

GFCI /AFCI outlet

Post by MarkM » Sat Jul 21, 2018 4:19 pm

So I am slowly updating many receptacles in my house, I am adding a receptacle in a utility room, which I understand NEC would require a GFCI /AFCI given its proximity to water sources.

I eventually will be replacing my breaker panel, and at that time I will have GFCI / AFCI breakers.

My question becomes will I encounter any problems when I would then have GFCI / AFCI receptacles on a circuit protected by a GFCI / AFCI breaker at the panel?

User avatar
emtnut
Posts: 1925
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 7:21 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: GFCI /AFCI outlet

Post by emtnut » Sat Jul 21, 2018 6:50 pm

MarkM wrote:
Sat Jul 21, 2018 4:19 pm
So I am slowly updating many receptacles in my house, I am adding a receptacle in a utility room, which I understand NEC would require a GFCI /AFCI given its proximity to water sources.

I eventually will be replacing my breaker panel, and at that time I will have GFCI / AFCI breakers.

My question becomes will I encounter any problems when I would then have GFCI / AFCI receptacles on a circuit protected by a GFCI / AFCI breaker at the panel?
You would need GFCI if it's within 5' of the water source.
AfCI protection would be needed from the point you extend the circuit.

No issues having both AFCI and GFCI after you upgrade your panel, but in the event of a ground fault or arc fault, it could be the recept or the breaker that opens first.
~~ Ford Ford Ford Ford Ford Ford :mrgreen: ~~

MarkM
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 1:32 am

Re: GFCI /AFCI outlet

Post by MarkM » Sat Jul 21, 2018 6:56 pm

Would I need AFCI? Or will GFCI suffice. Yes, it will be approx 3 ft from a water source.

At this point the breaker at the breaker panel is neither AFCI nor GFCI.

User avatar
emtnut
Posts: 1925
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 7:21 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: GFCI /AFCI outlet

Post by emtnut » Sat Jul 21, 2018 6:59 pm

MarkM wrote:
Sat Jul 21, 2018 6:56 pm
Would I need AFCI? Or will GFCI suffice. Yes, it will be approx 3 ft from a water source.

At this point the breaker at the breaker panel is neither AFCI nor GFCI.
You need AFCI for pretty much any new circuit (there are some exclusions, but a utility room isn't one of them)

I take it you are extending an existing circuit. If that's the case, then I would use the load side of an AFCI recept to feed it, and use a GFCI at the new location.
~~ Ford Ford Ford Ford Ford Ford :mrgreen: ~~

Post Reply