Page 1 of 1

Add plug in between to existing plugs on same circuit

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 2:06 pm
by hdhiii
Hi,

I want to add a new plug in between to existing plugs, and wondering how I can do it. Never did electrical DIY project other than hooking up a new electrical fan in my bedroom. Can someone plesae help.

Re: Add plug in between to existing plugs on same circuit

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 10:57 pm
by Aaron
Well there's a relatively easy way to do it with surface-mounted raceway (Wiremold). The benefit is that it could take you about an hour to do if you have the materials and tools. The drawback is that Wiremold is a proprietary product that is sort of expensive and sort of unsightly compared to a regular flush receptacle with all its wiring behind the wall.

If you want to install a normal flush receptacle with a box behind your wall, that will be more involved and messy because it will involve cutting out drywall or plaster and running cable through studs.

Whichever way you go, the circuit logic is the same: you're pretty much going tap off one receptacle to power the new one.

Re: Add plug in between to existing plugs on same circuit

Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 6:16 am
by hdhiii
Cicuit logic? Do you a diagram of what you’re referring to.

Re: Add plug in between to existing plugs on same circuit

Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 9:24 am
by emtnut
It's just wired in parallel ie, black to black ... white to white.

Take a look at Shannons video, and see if that clears things up for you
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yBEMzxV05ZA

Re: Add plug in between to existing plugs on same circuit

Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 6:46 pm
by Shannon
Basically the easiest method is running a 14/2 wire from an existing plug location to the new location .This is fine in most cases as long as the circuit you are adding to is not already loaded to its max. Most times to do this you may need to cut into and patch drywall to run the wire. As Emtnut said you would simply match up the wire colours at the old location.