Jacuzzi Tub wiring

Ask your electrical related questions here
Post Reply
jvelaz1971
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 12:37 pm

Jacuzzi Tub wiring

Post by jvelaz1971 » Wed Mar 20, 2019 11:52 am

Hi Shannon,
Hope all is well. I have a jacuzzi tub in my master bathroom, which is on a dedicated line back to the service panel. I am going to get rid of the Jacuzzi. So now I will be left with a dedicated line. However, I don't know what type of wire it has. meaning a 12/2 etc. I have not gotten that far in my project. Actually, let me back up. Currently in my bathroom. I have a 15A outlet for general use. I have a GFCI outlet, which is what powers the Jacuzzi tub. Also, I have a light switch that operates my ceiling light. So in addition to the existing switch that controls the ceiling light. I will like to add 3 additional switches. So that one turns on the shower light, one turns on the fan/light combination, one turns on the lights over my new soaking tub, and turns on the lights over the vanity. So in total I will end up with 4 switches.
So can I use the existing wired from the Jacuzzi tub to power of at least two switches? If so, how do I go about that? Also, will I have to use the same type of wire that is there now?

Any assistance you can provide will be greatly appreciated.

User avatar
emtnut
Posts: 1789
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 7:21 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Jacuzzi Tub wiring

Post by emtnut » Wed Mar 20, 2019 6:40 pm

jvelaz1971 wrote:
Wed Mar 20, 2019 11:52 am

I don't know what type of wire it has. meaning a 12/2 etc.
I have a GFCI outlet, which is what powers the Jacuzzi tub.
I will like to add 3 additional switches. So that one turns on the shower light, one turns on the fan/light combination, one turns on the lights over my new soaking tub, and turns on the lights over the vanity.
So can I use the existing wired from the Jacuzzi tub to power of at least two switches? If so, how do I go about that? Also, will I have to use the same type of wire that is there now?
First step is to look at the Jacuzzi wire to see what size it is.
For the lighting you want to add, I would think you could just add that to the existing bathroom circuit (no need to use the Jacuzzi wiring)

You can use the Jacuzzi wiring if you need to, but most of those tubs used fairly large conductors, so if that is the case, you would need to splice on smaller 14 or 12 awg wires.
~~ Ford Ford Ford Ford Ford Ford :mrgreen: ~~

jvelaz1971
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: Jacuzzi Tub wiring

Post by jvelaz1971 » Thu Mar 21, 2019 7:04 am

Hi emtnut,

Thanks for replying. So are you saying that I could just add the 3 additional switches from the existing light switch that turns on my ceiling light?

Also, what exactly do you mean by "you would need to splice on smaller 14 or 12 awg wires."
Thanks again?

User avatar
emtnut
Posts: 1789
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 7:21 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Jacuzzi Tub wiring

Post by emtnut » Thu Mar 21, 2019 8:02 am

jvelaz1971 wrote:
Thu Mar 21, 2019 7:04 am
Hi emtnut,

Thanks for replying. So are you saying that I could just add the 3 additional switches from the existing light switch that turns on my ceiling light?

Also, what exactly do you mean by "you would need to splice on smaller 14 or 12 awg wires."
Thanks again?
For 2 or 3 lights and a fart fan, I see no problem on the existing circuit.

For the Jacuzzi wire, I assumed it was a large feeder (like #6 or #8 wire). But I just noticed you said the tub was powered by a GFCI outlet, so it's either a 15 or 20A circuit I'd think.
Verify the breaker that was on this line, if it's a 20A, you can just swap it out for a 15 and run the lighting (switches etc) from that. Even if it is #12 wiring, as long as the breaker is 15A you're good to go.

If nothing else, use the Jacuzzi wiring for a receptacle, ... instead of abandoning it.
~~ Ford Ford Ford Ford Ford Ford :mrgreen: ~~

jvelaz1971
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: Jacuzzi Tub wiring

Post by jvelaz1971 » Fri Mar 22, 2019 6:58 am

oh ok. I will confirm if it is either a 15A or 20A circuit. Thank you so much. This is very helpful and I feel much better now.

Post Reply