Electrical

Ask your electrical related questions here
Post Reply
Mcrisplam
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2019 3:28 am

Electrical

Post by Mcrisplam » Sat Jun 29, 2019 3:31 am

I’m going to install two nonexistent light fixtures operated by one switch only. I’m going to take the feed from a current outlet. my question is, what size romex should I use 14-2 or 12-2? The fuse for that outlet has a 20 on it but the cables on the outlet only have the ground, black and white cables. I live in California
Thank you

User avatar
Aaron
Posts: 3285
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:03 pm
Location: St. Paul, MN

Re: Electrical

Post by Aaron » Sat Jun 29, 2019 5:40 am

Check the existing cable jacket and see if you can determine the gauge of wires. You should use the gauge that matches what you already have installed.

Today, #12 cable has a yellow jacket but it never used to in the past, it was white like #14 is. So you have to look at the printing on the jacket to be sure. Hopefully it's readable; sometimes it can be hard to read.

User avatar
Shannon
Posts: 12684
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 11:58 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Electrical

Post by Shannon » Sun Jun 30, 2019 7:33 pm

I would also suggest that if you only have 14/2 wire then you should place a 15 amp breaker there instead of the 20 amp
If you've found our videos or website information helpful, please considering making a donation using PayPal or pledging us on Patreon

User avatar
Aaron
Posts: 3285
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:03 pm
Location: St. Paul, MN

Re: Electrical

Post by Aaron » Mon Jul 01, 2019 6:52 am

Yes, definitely. If the cable is 14/x, then a 20 amp breaker is oversized and must be changed out to a 15.

Post Reply