Doorbell transformer confusion

Ask your electrical related questions here
Post Reply
User avatar
6ftdoll
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2019 7:44 pm

Doorbell transformer confusion

Post by 6ftdoll » Sat Aug 24, 2019 12:58 pm

Hello all, I've been poking around lately trying to do repairs around the home.
I'm looking to hardwire my Ring doorbell and finally believe I located the transformer (and its buried wire).
Problem is, I have no idea what I'm looking at. Looks like 2 transformers connected(?)
I tested the voltage for the top one and it registers around 19.4
The other peice has no voltage.
Can anyone tell me which of these is the actual doorbell transformer and what the other thing might be?
Thanks all.
Attachments
20190824_145424.jpg
20190824_145424.jpg (113.06 KiB) Viewed 147 times
20190824_145622.jpg
20190824_145622.jpg (204.81 KiB) Viewed 147 times

User avatar
A. Spruce
Posts: 6178
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: Doorbell transformer confusion

Post by A. Spruce » Sat Aug 24, 2019 1:28 pm

6ftdoll wrote:
Sat Aug 24, 2019 12:58 pm

I tested the voltage for the top one and it registers around 19.4
The other peice has no voltage.
So, you're only getting voltage from one transformer? It's possible that the doorbell or the transformer was replaced at some point and they abandoned the original transformer. Pop the cover off the box and see if both are connector or if one was abandoned. It would be best to turn off the power to that location before you start working.

You say you're "hard wiring" a Ring doorbell, what does this entail, exactly?
If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy.

User avatar
6ftdoll
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2019 7:44 pm

Re: Doorbell transformer confusion

Post by 6ftdoll » Sat Aug 24, 2019 2:05 pm

Hi Spruce! I think I solved the mystery. The lower transformer thingy had no power bc its actually apart of our boiler, which I powered off early spring. (See pic of gaggle of wires)

I powered up the boiler switch and got a reading of 25.5v.

Most likely, the top transformer is for the doorbell.
To answer your question, I currently installed my Ring camera which uses its internal battery and a wireless chime if you cant access your original wiring.
Problem is, the battery dies quickly and I have to dismount it to recharge quite often.
Now that I believe I've located the transformer and its buried wiring, I'm off to attempt to connect my Ring to it.
Thanks again!
Attachments
20190824_154636.jpg
20190824_154636.jpg (120.98 KiB) Viewed 140 times

User avatar
A. Spruce
Posts: 6178
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: Doorbell transformer confusion

Post by A. Spruce » Sat Aug 24, 2019 2:40 pm

I had to pull a Ring doorbell button/camera off the wall to do a repair, it was simply connected to the doorbell button wires. Don't know if they'd done any other rewiring when the Ring system was installed.
If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy.

User avatar
Aaron
Posts: 3435
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:03 pm
Location: St. Paul, MN

Re: Doorbell transformer confusion

Post by Aaron » Sat Aug 24, 2019 3:06 pm

The Ring doorbell "buttons" can use a legacy low-voltage doorbell transformer for constant power. So they're wired straight from the terminals of the transformer to the Ring itself. Any communication between Ring and anything else, such as your phone or a chime, occur over WiFi.

Old school doorbells, with traditional push-buttons that operate a chime, operate more like a light switch. When you push the button, you close the circuit that sends current to the chime. It's actually a solenoid that operates a plunger to ding the bell. When you release the button, the solenoid resets.

Post Reply