Adding an outlet with the single pole light switch

Ask your electrical related questions here
Post Reply
tony-143-shelley
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 7:26 pm

Adding an outlet with the single pole light switch

Post by tony-143-shelley » Tue Aug 27, 2019 7:34 pm

Hello, saw the video on adding a single pole light switch on you tube. I will be adding lights for a wash rack that will have the switch at the end per your second example. My question is I want to put a double gang box in so that i can have the switch but also an outlet. Is it possible to pigtail the black wire in the switch box and use that and the neutral that's left unconnected to create the loop for the outlet?

User avatar
Aaron
Posts: 3435
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:03 pm
Location: St. Paul, MN

Re: Adding an outlet with the single pole light switch

Post by Aaron » Wed Aug 28, 2019 12:07 am

Yes it sure is possible. Just make sure power enters the same double-gang box with the switch and receptacle. The power (hot and neutral) should terminate to the line side of the GFCI receptacle (you need these types near wet areas). On the load side of the GFCI, just pigtail hot to one of the terminals of the switch. The other terminal of the switch gets connected to the black that goes to the light. The white that goes to the light gets connected to the neutral of the load side of the GFCI. Make sure everything's grounded!

tony-143-shelley
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 7:26 pm

Re: Adding an outlet with the single pole light switch

Post by tony-143-shelley » Wed Aug 28, 2019 4:30 pm

Awesome, thank you for the information. Yes it is a GFCI.
Thank you again. :D

Post Reply