Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Ask your electrical related questions here
DPFAST
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:38 am

Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by DPFAST » Fri Dec 28, 2018 3:21 pm

Hi. In my master bathroom on second floor I only have one power outlet on one side of a long and narrow bathroom. I need to install a new power outlet next to my toilet for a night light. My whole condo let lines inside walls are inside a metal conduit witch also provide the ground.

Above in the Attic I have a light with light switch. I want to use this as a power source of my new power outlet. Question is, can I just run Romex cable from the light switch in the Attic down the inside of the bathroom wall to the new switch inside a plastic wall box? If yes, how do I ground it since the rest of the wiring is inside a metal conduit. Should I run a Romex cable inside a flexible metal, aluminum conduit instead and use a metal wall box witch would provide automatically a ground? The first option is much easier to run but not sure if one can mix a metal conduit with plastic? Can regular Romex be ran in the Attic and inside the wall? Please help. Thanks

User avatar
Aaron
Posts: 3525
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:03 pm
Location: St. Paul, MN

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by Aaron » Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:57 pm

The important thing about bathroom receptacles is that they're required to be GFCI-protected. So if you can run a line from your existing receptacle (which I presume is GFCI--it should be!) up the wall and back down to the new receptacle, that would be ideal. You'd only need to use a standard receptacle because the GFCI receptacle would give it GFCI load protection.

You can use Type NM-B/NMD (Romex) cable with steel studs as long as you install the plastic bushings that are necessary so that the cable doesn't chafe on any sharp edges of the steel. Otherwise, typically, as you've discovered, it's more common to use either EMT conduit or Type MC cable. Since you're in a townhouse (you have an attic) it's probably okay to use NM-B/NMD, but if you were in a multi-floor commercial-type building that were true condos, your association would probably require you to hire a commercial electrician to do the work and they'd use EMT or Type MC cable and steel boxes.

If you use conduit or Type MC cable or EMT conduit you must use a steel box.

In Canada, all boxes must be grounded with ground screws in the box. If you're in the USA, the plastic boxes are not grounded and steel boxes require a separate 10-32 screw in a pre-tapped hole in the back of the box to ground it. If you're tying in NM-B/NMD into a preexisting box with no grounds because the boxes themselves are the ground, then that ground screw that I just mentioned supplies a source of ground for the NM-B/NMD cable.

User avatar
Shannon
Posts: 13230
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 11:58 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by Shannon » Sat Dec 29, 2018 8:14 am

One other note is that depending on how the light circuit is wired you may not have power at the light location when the switch is off so wiring a receptacle form there that you intend to use for a night light would be useless unless the over head light was turned on anyways.
If you've found our videos or website information helpful, please considering making a donation using PayPal or pledging us on Patreon

DPFAST
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:38 am

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by DPFAST » Mon Dec 31, 2018 11:12 am

Shannon wrote:
Sat Dec 29, 2018 8:14 am
One other note is that depending on how the light circuit is wired you may not have power at the light location when the switch is off so wiring a receptacle form there that you intend to use for a night light would be useless unless the over head light was turned on anyways.
I was finally able to check that in the Attic. I think this light fixture must have a constant hot wire as the switch and the light is one unit?
Attachments
20181231_102316.jpg
20181231_102316.jpg (50 KiB) Viewed 579 times

DPFAST
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:38 am

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by DPFAST » Mon Dec 31, 2018 12:01 pm

Question, can indoor (yellow) Romex wire be used in the Attic or the code requires the outdoor (Grey) type? Only few dollars difference.

User avatar
Aaron
Posts: 3525
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:03 pm
Location: St. Paul, MN

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by Aaron » Mon Dec 31, 2018 2:00 pm

Yes if that light is only controlled by its pull-chain switch, then it indeed has constant power. You can tap into that junction box for a power source.

Yes, you can use normal Type NM-B/NMD cable. You don't need Type UF/NMWU.

DPFAST
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:38 am

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by DPFAST » Mon Dec 31, 2018 4:19 pm

Alright, I'm done. Thanks Aaron for the tips. Is it possible for you to tell from the pics if I missed anything and if this would pass a home inspection just in case. Thanks

1. I found a space next to my drain vent between 2 studs. For some reason there was no ceiling wall but the hike was filled with insolation. That's above my small bathroom closet.
20181231_140730.jpg
20181231_140730.jpg (50.8 KiB) Viewed 567 times
2. Then I ran the wire up the wall and them sideway all the way to the light fixture placing a mounting brackets every 20 inches or so.
20181231_140739.jpg
20181231_140739.jpg (51.98 KiB) Viewed 567 times
Attachments
20181231_140827.jpg
20181231_140827.jpg (50.32 KiB) Viewed 567 times
20181231_140817.jpg
20181231_140817.jpg (46.36 KiB) Viewed 567 times
20181231_140811.jpg
20181231_140811.jpg (39.71 KiB) Viewed 567 times

DPFAST
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:38 am

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by DPFAST » Mon Dec 31, 2018 4:21 pm

Here are the connections in the Attic
Attachments
20181231_153936.jpg
20181231_153936.jpg (35.48 KiB) Viewed 567 times
20181231_153128.jpg
20181231_153128.jpg (41.11 KiB) Viewed 567 times
20181231_151646.jpg
20181231_151646.jpg (49.55 KiB) Viewed 567 times

DPFAST
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:38 am

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by DPFAST » Mon Dec 31, 2018 4:25 pm

Inside the bathroom. I thinking it came out nice I'm just not sure if I violated any codes? Again, thank you Aaron and Shannon for your feedback.
Attachments
20181231_155917.jpg
20181231_155917.jpg (64.14 KiB) Viewed 567 times
20181231_154213.jpg
20181231_154213.jpg (28.13 KiB) Viewed 567 times
20181231_150105.jpg
20181231_150105.jpg (24.33 KiB) Viewed 567 times
20181231_145946.jpg
20181231_145946.jpg (33.26 KiB) Viewed 567 times
20181231_145124.jpg
20181231_145124.jpg (32.07 KiB) Viewed 567 times

User avatar
Aaron
Posts: 3525
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:03 pm
Location: St. Paul, MN

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by Aaron » Mon Dec 31, 2018 5:32 pm

You killed it! No issues as far as I can tell.

I'm not sure why you didn't terminate the wire directly into the back of the GFCI. You don't need the splices.

Good job!

DPFAST
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:38 am

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by DPFAST » Mon Dec 31, 2018 5:58 pm

You mean the wire from the box directly into the GFCI? Don't know? It would probably fit in easier as well, lol. Very easy to re-do it. Maybe tomorrow, Thanks :shock:

User avatar
Aaron
Posts: 3525
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:03 pm
Location: St. Paul, MN

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by Aaron » Mon Dec 31, 2018 6:03 pm

Yes, that's what I mean but don't worry about it! It's a non-issue. lol

User avatar
Shannon
Posts: 13230
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 11:58 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by Shannon » Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:02 am

DPFAST wrote:
Mon Dec 31, 2018 12:01 pm
Question, can indoor (yellow) Romex wire be used in the Attic or the code requires the outdoor (Grey) type? Only few dollars difference.
White (14/2) would have been better as this will only be a 15 amp circuit and the yellow (12/2) is intended to indicate a 20amp circuit. Not a huge deal but is a good rule to follow.
If you've found our videos or website information helpful, please considering making a donation using PayPal or pledging us on Patreon

User avatar
Shannon
Posts: 13230
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 11:58 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by Shannon » Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:08 am

All I see that I would change is adding a wire staple with in 12" of the junction box at the light location.Also be sure that the wires are connected to the "line " terminals on the GFCI and not the ones marked "load". You may have it that way ,we just cant tell from the picture.

Where are you located again? That is a really small amount of insulation in your attic! I would be adding more even if you are in a warmer climate.
If you've found our videos or website information helpful, please considering making a donation using PayPal or pledging us on Patreon

DPFAST
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:38 am

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by DPFAST » Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:28 am

Shannon wrote:
Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:02 am
DPFAST wrote:
Mon Dec 31, 2018 12:01 pm
Question, can indoor (yellow) Romex wire be used in the Attic or the code requires the outdoor (Grey) type? Only few dollars difference.
White (14/2) would have been better as this will only be a 15 amp circuit and the yellow (12/2) is intended to indicate a 20amp circuit. Not a huge deal but is a good rule to follow.
Yes, this is on a 15AMP circuit. Would that be a problem during a house inspection ?

User avatar
Shannon
Posts: 13230
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 11:58 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by Shannon » Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:38 am

DPFAST wrote:
Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:28 am
Yes, this is on a 15AMP circuit. Would that be a problem during a house inspection ?
Normal house inspector would never catch that ,a electrical inspection may but not likely going to have it changed.IMO anyways
If you've found our videos or website information helpful, please considering making a donation using PayPal or pledging us on Patreon

DPFAST
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:38 am

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by DPFAST » Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:43 am

Shannon wrote:
Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:08 am
All I see that I would change is adding a wire staple with in 12" of the junction box at the light location.
Very easy to do. Thanks Shannon

Also be sure that the wires are connected to the "line " terminals on the GFCI and not the ones marked "load". You may have it that way ,we just cant tell from the picture.
Yes I did connected to the Line. I understand that the Load is when you wanna protect other receptacles downstream?

Where are you located again? That is a really small amount of insulation in your attic! I would be adding more even if you are in a warmer climate.
I am in Suburbs of Chicago. How do I know how much insulation do I need? My current levels are up to the top of the rafters maybe little over the top. Happy New Year

User avatar
emtnut
Posts: 1928
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 7:21 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by emtnut » Tue Jan 01, 2019 4:38 pm

DPFAST wrote:
Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:43 am
Shannon wrote:
Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:08 am
All I see that I would change is adding a wire staple with in 12" of the junction box at the light location.
Very easy to do. Thanks Shannon

Also be sure that the wires are connected to the "line " terminals on the GFCI and not the ones marked "load". You may have it that way ,we just cant tell from the picture.
Yes I did connected to the Line. I understand that the Load is when you wanna protect other receptacles downstream?

Where are you located again? That is a really small amount of insulation in your attic! I would be adding more even if you are in a warmer climate.
I am in Suburbs of Chicago. How do I know how much insulation do I need? My current levels are up to the top of the rafters maybe little over the top. Happy New Year
Seems I'm often the bearer of bad news :shock:

From what I know, Chicago has a requirement for emt for all wiring. So that means you should be wiring the new circuit in emt tubing.
Also, for NEC, 2 bathrooms can share a circuit, but the attic light would be a no go as far as code.

As mentioned, I doubt a home inspector would pick up on these deficiencies, but if you are getting an electrical inspection, they would not pass this.
~~ Ford Ford Ford Ford Ford Ford :mrgreen: ~~

User avatar
Aaron
Posts: 3525
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:03 pm
Location: St. Paul, MN

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by Aaron » Tue Jan 01, 2019 5:26 pm

DRAT. I was wondering why there was conduit going into that light fixture box in a wood attic. Not unheard of, but unusual.

The EMT rule may only apply to Chicago proper. If you're in a suburb, you COULD be lucky and exempt. You should find this out. It may be all of Cook County, though.

Also, you may be able to get away with using Type MC cable or FMC (flexible metallic conduit), I'm not sure Chicago requires EMT only. If that's true, be sure to use 14/2 Type MC. If using FMC, you should run a green-insulated ground conductor.

You have the great Chicago fires to thank for the most strict electrical code in the United States.

User avatar
Shannon
Posts: 13230
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 11:58 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by Shannon » Tue Jan 01, 2019 6:13 pm

Oh boy yes I believe you are correct about the EMT in Chicago. I guess the best thing to do would be to check with your local electrical inspectors to see what they say. Though I guess the circuit issue will have you changing things anyways.
If you've found our videos or website information helpful, please considering making a donation using PayPal or pledging us on Patreon

User avatar
Shannon
Posts: 13230
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 11:58 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by Shannon » Tue Jan 01, 2019 6:16 pm

I would imagine that your area would require at least R40 to R60 insulation. You will be lucky if you have R10 and because the tops of your trusses are showing you will have a great amount of cold convection through the exposed lumber to the drywall. That blow in should be around 16- 20 inches deep or so Min.
If you've found our videos or website information helpful, please considering making a donation using PayPal or pledging us on Patreon

DPFAST
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:38 am

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by DPFAST » Tue Jan 01, 2019 8:52 pm

Seems I'm often the bearer of bad news :shock:

From what I know, Chicago has a requirement for emt for all wiring. So that means you should be wiring the new circuit in emt tubing.
Also, for NEC, 2 bathrooms can share a circuit, but the attic light would be a no go as far as code.

As mentioned, I doubt a home inspector would pick up on these deficiencies, but if you are getting an electrical inspection, they would not pass this.

Wow, thanks for that info. I've been reading on crazy Chicago codes and from what I am getting is that Chicago (and most of its suburbs) only allows running wires inside metal tubing. Flexible metal tubing is not allow for longer than 6 feet so many DIY electricians use them for corners/bents alongside the straight metal tubes.
Another thing I read was that Romex cable can only be run in confined spaces like inside the wall or ceiling but not on the outside of the wall. Is that true?

Than really sucks for me. Question, is my install still safe to leave since is only for 15 AMP circuit and is only meant to handle a night light ? I really hate to change it now anyway. Thanks

DPFAST
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:38 am

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by DPFAST » Tue Jan 01, 2019 9:06 pm

Aaron wrote:
Tue Jan 01, 2019 5:26 pm
DRAT. I was wondering why there was conduit going into that light fixture box in a wood attic. Not unheard of, but unusual.

The EMT rule may only apply to Chicago proper. If you're in a suburb, you COULD be lucky and exempt. You should find this out. It may be all of Cook County, though.

Also, you may be able to get away with using Type MC cable or FMC (flexible metallic conduit), I'm not sure Chicago requires EMT only. If that's true, be sure to use 14/2 Type MC. If using FMC, you should run a green-insulated ground conductor.

You have the great Chicago fires to thank for the most strict electrical code in the United States.
ALl of the Chicago land and all of its suburbs accepted a very strict electrical codes from what I was reading (most say its because of a very powerful Electricians Union in Illinois) . They all require metal tubing only and flexible tubing in not more than 6 feet length to run electric wires. What a bummer :x :x I also was reading that Romex wire is not allowed in Chicago at all. So who is buying it? Why would all the stores sell something you not supposed to install ? That doesn't make sense to me.

Another way to fix this maybe would be to run the Romex wire to the new receptacle from the other recetical in the bathroom. This way there would be no yellow wire in the attic and no one would know unless one would open up one of the bathroom receptacles. Would that work?

DPFAST
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:38 am

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by DPFAST » Tue Jan 01, 2019 9:14 pm

Shannon wrote:
Tue Jan 01, 2019 6:16 pm
I would imagine that your area would require at least R40 to R60 insulation. You will be lucky if you have R10 and because the tops of your trusses are showing you will have a great amount of cold convection through the exposed lumber to the drywall. That blow in should be around 16- 20 inches deep or so Min.
So what king of insulation should I add? Cellulose, fiberglass? I don't have the blower machine to do it, can I do it by hand? Do you have a video on it? Thanks Shannon

User avatar
Shannon
Posts: 13230
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 11:58 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by Shannon » Wed Jan 02, 2019 8:00 am

I cant recommend to you to not do this wiring up to current code.

As for insulation many big box stores have blowers for rent or they may even forgo the rent if you buy X amount of insulation. Alternatively you could use a double layer of batt insulation which could be installed by hand. Install it with the second layer turned perpendicular to the first layer you put down. This helps to keep long sections of joints from lining up and letting cold air through.
If you've found our videos or website information helpful, please considering making a donation using PayPal or pledging us on Patreon

DPFAST
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:38 am

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by DPFAST » Wed Jan 02, 2019 10:53 am

Shannon wrote:
Wed Jan 02, 2019 8:00 am
I cant recommend to you to not do this wiring up to current code.

I understand of course. Its just if using a Romex wire in the attic in other states is safe and upto a code one would assume it would be also safe in other states (if taking the politics out of it) I assume its safe for now until I have to change it before some kind of inspection or maybe during summer months when I have more time.

As for insulation many big box stores have blowers for rent or they may even forgo the rent if you buy X amount of insulation. Alternatively you could use a double layer of batt insulation which could be installed by hand. Install it with the second layer turned perpendicular to the first layer you put down. This helps to keep long sections of joints from lining up and letting cold air through.

I've looked again in the attic and noticed that the attic vents may be covered if installing any additional insulation. It looks like I would have to first add some of the attic rafter/baffle vents the pink stuff before adding any of the batt insulation. Is that hard to do? Not much room in there especially with what looks like less than 45 degrees rafters from the floor?

User avatar
emtnut
Posts: 1928
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 7:21 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by emtnut » Wed Jan 02, 2019 12:56 pm

DPFAST wrote:
Wed Jan 02, 2019 10:53 am
Shannon wrote:
Wed Jan 02, 2019 8:00 am
I cant recommend to you to not do this wiring up to current code.
I understand of course. Its just if using a Romex wire in the attic in other states is safe and upto a code one would assume it would be also safe in other states (if taking the politics out of it) I assume its safe for now until I have to change it before some kind of inspection or maybe during summer months when I have more time.
The only 'safety' aspect I see (from the pics posted), is that the box connector clamp up in the attic that the yellow romex enters looks a little on the tight side. Those connectors should just be 'snug' and not pinch the cable.

The issue that you may be faced with, is in the event there is a fire. Insurance companies love to find ways to not pay out claims. The other issue would be when you go to sell the house, it could be listed as a deficiency, and then you have to pay to have it fixed 'up to code'.
~~ Ford Ford Ford Ford Ford Ford :mrgreen: ~~

User avatar
emtnut
Posts: 1928
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 7:21 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by emtnut » Wed Jan 02, 2019 1:23 pm

DPFAST wrote:
Tue Jan 01, 2019 8:52 pm

Wow, thanks for that info. I've been reading on crazy Chicago codes and from what I am getting is that Chicago (and most of its suburbs) only allows running wires inside metal tubing. Flexible metal tubing is not allow for longer than 6 feet so many DIY electricians use them for corners/bents alongside the straight metal tubes.
Another thing I read was that Romex cable can only be run in confined spaces like inside the wall or ceiling but not on the outside of the wall. Is that true?
The limit on FMT is an NEC requirement

Romex (excluding Chicago) can be run inside a wall/ceiling/attic , but nowhere can it be run outside, even in a conduit, because it's considered a wet location. Romex is for dry locations only.
~~ Ford Ford Ford Ford Ford Ford :mrgreen: ~~

User avatar
Aaron
Posts: 3525
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:03 pm
Location: St. Paul, MN

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by Aaron » Wed Jan 02, 2019 2:23 pm

Since we're talking the US, we're talking NM-B and UF types of cable (the Canadian equivalents are NMD and NMWU). They both have to be protected, but UF allows for direct burial. It's sleeved in conduit above ground for outdoor (wet) locations for entrance into a building.

Both NM-B and UF may only be exposed within stud and joist bays, because ostensibly, it *can* be covered with drywall and therefore protected, when finished... so that's why you see it fully exposed in basements and garages. It cannot, however, be exposed permanently (like stapled along a finished wall).

You can sleeve short sections of each type through EMT for the purpose of physical protection, though I do not know what the length limit is.

In the Chicagoland area (seems some cursory research is all of Cook and DuPage counties of Illinois), everything is THHN/THWN fished through EMT, IMC, or RMC. They may not even allow PVC tubing either!

User avatar
Shannon
Posts: 13230
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 11:58 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Adding a new power outlet to a bathroom

Post by Shannon » Wed Jan 02, 2019 9:50 pm

With the strict requirements in Chicago I would be surprised if a home owner can actually pull a permit for their own home?


For your attic installing the baffles is a pain but you have “lack of existing insulation” in your favour . It will be much easier when you are not working in 16” or blow in.
If you've found our videos or website information helpful, please considering making a donation using PayPal or pledging us on Patreon

Post Reply