Electrical box for OTR micro

Ask your electrical related questions here
Post Reply
ducebigalow
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2017 7:04 am

Electrical box for OTR micro

Post by ducebigalow » Sat Aug 12, 2017 9:38 am

Hi
I just purchased a OTR microwave and have removed the hard wired hood vent. When I re-wire for the plug in OTR, do I have to mount the electrical box to a stud flush with the drywall, or can I mount it inside the cabinet itself?

I live in Ontario Canada if that helps for building codes.

Thanks


User avatar
emtnut
Posts: 752
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 7:21 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Elctrical box for OTR micro

Post by emtnut » Sat Aug 12, 2017 1:15 pm

Either is code compliant.
As long as there is room for the receptacle and the cord connection ... you're good to go.

If you're getting this inspected, the micro needs AFCI protection. If not, I'd just put a regular receptacle :mrgreen: ... but I never said that... I heard some electricians do that 8-)
~~ This space for rent ... apply within :mrgreen: ~~

ducebigalow
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2017 7:04 am

Re: Elctrical box for OTR micro

Post by ducebigalow » Sat Aug 12, 2017 1:34 pm

Thanks, no I wasn't planning on getting it inspected. :)
From what I have seen online, the common thing is to put a regular receptacle in.

ducebigalow
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2017 7:04 am

Re: Elctrical box for OTR micro

Post by ducebigalow » Thu Aug 31, 2017 2:23 pm

All done, and working fine......no fires!! Thanks

User avatar
emtnut
Posts: 752
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 7:21 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Elctrical box for OTR micro

Post by emtnut » Thu Aug 31, 2017 5:38 pm

ducebigalow wrote:
Thu Aug 31, 2017 2:23 pm
All done, and working fine......no fires!! Thanks
Good to hear, and thanks for getting back to us :mrgreen:
~~ This space for rent ... apply within :mrgreen: ~~

Post Reply