Furnace Room

The place for discussions that don't fit into any of the above categories
Post Reply
rsihota
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 10:47 am

Furnace Room

Post by rsihota » Fri Nov 10, 2017 3:25 pm

20171021_142850.jpg
20171021_142850.jpg (60.69 KiB) Viewed 52 times
Sorry If this is stupid question, but I have pipes that are exposed in the furnace room, should I cover up those pipes. The exposed pipes are behind the furnace. So if I have to cover those pipes will I have to disconnect the furnace to do so. Please find pic atached


User avatar
A. Spruce
Posts: 2488
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: Furnace Room

Post by A. Spruce » Fri Nov 10, 2017 3:51 pm

Pipes, in an of themselves, are not required to be covered by code, other than trying to tidy up the room there is no reason to do so.

BTW, black pipe is usually indicative of gas pipe.
I'm CDO, it's the same thing as OCD, but in alphabetical order like it should be! I've also got a touch of AD/OS, Attention Deficit . . . Oh, Shiny!

User avatar
Shannon
Posts: 8914
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 11:58 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Furnace Room

Post by Shannon » Sat Nov 11, 2017 8:44 am

My question would be why do you think it should be covered? Just curious as to your reasoning?
If you've found our videos or website information helpful, please considering pledging us on Patreon

rsihota
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 10:47 am

Re: Furnace Room

Post by rsihota » Sat Nov 11, 2017 11:13 am

I really don't know , just someone who was working at the home suggested it , did not see a big deal , so just though I get a second opinion, but honestly no idea for a reason why it should be covered.

Post Reply