Level 5 Drywall Finish - Mud Consistency

Ask your questions pertaining to the interior that don't fit in the above categories
DanM

Level 5 Drywall Finish - Mud Consistency

Post by DanM » Sat Dec 02, 2017 9:54 am

I've got a big wall + bulkhead in my kitchen that's going to be getting a lot of light and I want to give it a level 5 finish. I've got plenty of drywall experience but I've never done level 5 before. I'm just wondering what consistency my mud should be before I roll it onto the wall.

Same as taping mud? A bit soupier than taping mud? A lot soupier than taping mud?

A. Spruce

Re: Level 5 Drywall Finish - Mud Consistency

Post by A. Spruce » Sat Dec 02, 2017 11:50 am

I would say that the mud should be whatever consistency you find the easiest to work with. The "level" of finish has to do with quality of work, NOT the materials themselves, a level 5 finish simply means that every effort is made to achieve a perfectly smooth surface, or at least a surface that doesn't show defects, fasteners, or joints.

I always thin down my mud slightly, just enough that it still holds a good bead on the edge of the knife, yet applies smoothly and evenly. If I had to guess, 1 to 2 cups of water in a full bucket of mud. I also whip it to cream the mud to a very smooth consistency, eliminating clumps and balls that form while the product sits on the shelf. Keep in mind that the more water you add, the more the material will shrink when it dries, which will require more coats to fill imperfections.

The #1 tip that I can give you is to ALWAYS keep your tools clean as you work, and to keep the sides of the bucket clean not only while you work, also when the mud is stored, this prevents the mud from drying and flaking into the material, rendering the material impossible to finish with.
If you've found our videos, forum, and answers helpful, consider making a small donation to help us keep the lights on and the help flowing. 8-)

DanM