Buying a fixer upper and wanting advice

Ask your kitchen related question here

Buying a fixer upper and wanting advice

Post by 7055 » Mon Sep 02, 2019 6:46 pm

Hello,

I am new to home owning and house-improvements, however I am currently shopping for my first house and I want to purchase something that I can fix up on my own so that I can afford to have a nicer home than I otherwise would have. I also think that it will be something that I will enjoy doing.

I haven't decided on a house yet, but I just wondered if anyone could offer me advice on if I am getting in too far over my head. I am currently single and I am a mechanical inclined individual but I have no experience working on houses. How unreasonable is it for a newby such as myself to learn how to remodel a kitchen (or other such area) and successfully pull it off on his own using the internet as a learning resource? Is there anything in particular I should look for when purchasing homes? Any sections of the home I should avoid as my first remodeling project? How much does it typically cost to remodel a kitchen doing all your own labor and how many hours?

A. Spruce

Re: Buying a fixer upper and wanting advice

Post by A. Spruce » Mon Sep 02, 2019 7:13 pm

If you are reasonably handy, then you'll be able to tackle 90% of cosmetics and probably 50% of structural.

Having been an investor, to me a "fixer-upper" needed some paint and maybe floor coverings. While I could build a house from the ground up, as a temporary investment, I wanted the least amount of work for the highest amount of return. As an owner, I would first and foremost choose a house that fit my needs, after that it must have good bones, something that is structurally sound and maybe just needs a little TLC here and there.