Sump Pit

Discuss plumbing related issues here - pex, drains, etc.
CanadianSal

Sump Pit

Post by CanadianSal » Sat Nov 30, 2019 8:36 am

I am installing a sewage basin and there was a suggestion that a high water table might displace this basin once its put in place.
I took a look at the neighbour's setup, and he has a sump pump adjacent to the sewage pit.
So I am thinking I will do the same - as I have seen water rise and receed in this pit.

I am new to this - what would be the recommended approach - should I extend the current pit to also include a sump pump - or complete this one and cut a new hole AFTER I am finished with this one. Or Can I fit a sump pump in the current pit - outside the basin.

This is more a best practice suggestion. Appreciate your thoughts - I am guessing I will need to rent a jackhammer. Hopefully the kid at the homedepot has some wisdom on this.
Attachments
sump.jpg
sump.jpg (193.02 KiB) Viewed 99 times

Shannon

Re: Sump Pit

Post by Shannon » Sat Nov 30, 2019 8:46 am

Im not familiar with sewage pits? would that not be a closed pit ? How would the ground water get in this to displace the sewage?
If you've found our videos or website information helpful, please considering making a donation using PayPal or pledging us on Patreon

CanadianSal

Post by CanadianSal » Sat Nov 30, 2019 8:54 am

It will be closed and sealed. Water usually fills this pit - now with the basin in place, the water will be displaced - it will surround the basin. I am not sure where it will go - or if it exerts enough pressure on the basin, can it raise it out of the ground? I did not to suggest that the sewage will be diplaced - I meant the sealed basin.
One plumber suggested that I do not worry about the water, and they it will eventually make it to my other sump basin about 25' away.

Shannon

Post by Shannon » Sat Nov 30, 2019 2:53 pm